doubleshot media

for a strong, fast pick-me-up

Remembrance Day reflection: 11/11 at 11 a.m. – the power of pausing to purposefully remember

Like millions of people around Australia and around the world – I just paused to remember and reflect on Remembrance Day – a minute’s silence where you (if you observe this time) stop whatever you are doing and purposefully remember.

Remembrance Day started off to remember and commemorate when the guns fell silence in World War I and the sacrifices of those who fought and died in WWI. In Australia, we now remember those who sacrificed in other conflicts.

My mother’s uncle survived Gallipoli yet he never made it to the first Remembrance Day. He was killed in France in 1916.

Anzac Sydney King

Like many people I lead a busy life of rush, rush, rush where I often lose track of time.

Yet, I manage to remember and observe Remembrance Day – mainly because of the easy to remember 11/11 at 11 O’clock. I set an alarm for 10:50 a.m. so I don’t get absorbed in some task and miss 11 a.m.

After I paused to remember Remembrance Day – it hit me just how powerful it is to pause to purposely remember and reflect.

In fact, I plan to purposely pause to reflect more often – using the power of the Remembrance Day memorability of the date and time.

I will put it in my diary for Jan 1 at 1 p.m. Feb 2 at 2 p.m. etc.

All months of the year – except of course for 11/11! That’s for remembering Remembrance Day.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
