doubleshot media

for a strong, fast pick-me-up

For Rugby fans and language lovers – “plethora” and “pilloried” and “torpid”

doubleshot media

If you love words and learning more about words – I encourage you to enjoy Rugby Union and take note of the words used.

Try

boys and balls

I’m a Rugby-loving (League and Union) word nerd. I work with words in my job – and I love “studying” Union commentary and analysis.

Gordon Bray

I find Union commentary and analysis shows a robust and confident love of language

Union writers and commentators seem to use words you won’t often hear in other sports coverage.

Expressions such as:

That was a torpid interpretation by the referee.

Piled on a plethora of points.

The All blacks have been pilloried by the NZ media.

Now, I know basically what the words mean – but I find I am often encouraged to “dig deeper” into where the words come from.

If words interest you too – here’s a bit more about the words pilloried, plethora and torpid.

Pilloried

To Pillory

View original post 287 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
