efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

What you can learn from Hemingway’s humour and insults.

efangelist

Writers can be a bitchy bunch – and witty too.

As you’d expect, they can construct powerful insults that pack a punch  – or a jokey jab.

Here are two of my favourites Hemingway “insults”

TB at Hs

I love how Hemingway derides similes.

He was criticized for using simple “dinky” words that would not send the reader to a dictionary.

I love how he “jokes” that he needs a dictionary – and how he uses a simile to attack similies.

“…similies (bring me my dictionary) are like defective ammunition (the lowest thing I can think of at this time).”

I also love the stench of this insult – as he “pisses on” writers of parodies.

I can smell the caustic urine in the insult and the words “step up” suggest (to me) the step at a urinal.

“The parody is the last refuge of the frustrated writer…The step up from writing…

View original post 162 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
