efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

Why smart, young people GROK the word GROK. Do you grok GROK?

efangelist

I-Grok-Spock 1

Do you grok the word “grok”?

I hadn’t heard (or used) it for years – until I recently heard lots of young hipster tech types using the word.

If you don’t know – GROK means to “understand deeply” – as in I “get it”.

You understand something so deeply that it becomes part of you. It’s inside you rather than something you are acquainted with from a distance.

The word was coined in the 1961 science-fiction novel, Stranger in a Strange Land. – I didn’t hear it until the late 70s.

I still remember the first time I heard it – a super-smart older kid at school used it.

I loved the sound of GROK because the word sounded so sci-fi – both futuristic and primitive at the same time. To me it sounds like the name of a caveman – or some being you’d encounter on Star Trek.

View original post 201 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
