efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

Music branding lessons from Captain and Tennille

efangelist

What image do you think of when you think of  the duo Captain & Tennille?

Captain & T photos

For me – it is that “Captain’s hat”.

I hadn’t thought about the duo since the 1970s until  recent news of the duo divorcing.

(O.K. – There was one, brief time when I thought of Captain & Tennille – when I  had to explain to my son a Captain & Tennille reference in Modern Family where Phil Dunphy refers to his fists as Captain & Tennille.)

Anyway, I started thinking about how clever their “branding” was – and I wanted to know the story behind that name and captain’s hat!

Why the name “Captain”?

The Captain’s real name is Daryl Dragon.

Apparently, when he played as keyboardist with The Beach Boys, Mike Love gave him the nickname Captain.

Daryl then started wearing the Captain hat to go with the nickname.

In my opinion…

View original post 317 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 15, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
