efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

On #LinkedIn – should you dare to be extraordinary or play it safe?

You had me at “Accountant Extraordinaire”.

LI Accountant Extraordinaire

This post was inspired by a Linked In profile I saw this morning. It made me want to connect with this person.

What I found attractive about it was:

1. A sense of confidence in daring to stand out on what can be a very staid and conservative platform – Linked In.

2. So many businesses need accountants. I come from a creative business background (media/entertainment), so if I need an accountant I might as well get one that is “extraordinary”.

3. The unexpected contrast. Accountants have a certain “cliche” image of being conservative and cautious. While these traits are important – I also found it refreshing to see an accountant who dares to describe herself as extraordinaire. I followed and continue to follow a Canadian law blog precisely because of the refreshing and unexpected contrast. The name of the blog – Happy Lawyer. Two words you don’t often see together!

4. I also like the “people person” mention. I know it’s a cliche and so many people say they are a “people person”. Still, I see so many Linked profiles are full of abbreviations of titles – CEO, CFO, COO etc.

While these abbreviations of titles are important and impressive – what impresses me is that a person mentions early in their profile that they are a “people person” – and confident enough to declare that they are extraordinary like an “accountant extraordinaire”. I bet she rates highly on the All (extra) Ordinaries Index.

TB CRE

Anyway, that’s my opinion based on my business background from more “expressive” and colourful sectors (media/advertising/entertainment etc.)

What about you? Please add your views in the comments section below.

Should people play it safe on Linked In?

I am fortunate to have friends (including many accountants) who think very differently to the way I do. I often learn from them. I’m keen to get your views too.

———

TB CRE

If you enjoyed this post – Let’s connect:
If you found this post interesting you can follow me and connect with me.
I blog about fun pop culture stuff as well as more serious business communication tips.

@tonybiancotti
Linked In – under Tony Biancotti
Or you can follow this blog.

These days, lots of people and organisations need help with how to COPE with too much work, too much information, too many meetings, delivering difficult news, business writing, effective e-mail, e-mail overload, cross-cultural communication, better social media engagement etc. I like to help people COPE.

TBCope.001

One comment on “On #LinkedIn – should you dare to be extraordinary or play it safe?

  1. efangelist
    September 1, 2015

    Reblogged this on efangelist.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
