efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

Here’s how your screensaver can help save you from stress Pt 1

If you are like most people – you are under increasing stress these days. You feel squeezed. Too much to do. Not enough time.

screensaver

Here’s a simple technique you can use to reduce your stress and encourage a state of productive calm – even in the stressful office.

I’m a corporate communication consultant – and these days so many of the requests I get from clients are to help them deal with workplace stress and anxiety – especially how to communicate calmly and confidently when you are under so much stress.

Anyway, there is so much “advice” available – I like to “test” different techniques for myself.

Many of the techniques sound very “arty-farty” and can sound “flakey” to a Western business audience that is so concerned with squeezing the most out of every worker and every moment.

I’m currently “testing” techniques based on the SELF memory device.

The S stands for Serenity (the opposite of Stress) and recommends taking a few minutes to get serene before you embark on stressful work tasks.

This is particularly helpful when I help clients write calm responses to more challenging messages or requests.

I advise clients to not just jump in and out of all their e-mails and messages – but to:

1. collect and “bundle” messages requiring a calm and considered response
2. get into a calm state – by seeking serenity
3. responding to the messages while you are in a calm and serene state.

OK – what’s this got to do with computer screen savers?

Usually, I just jump into answering my e-mails – but this morning when I went to my computer my screen saver was on with beautiful images my son had selected for me. He knows I love beaches and images of the sea and palm trees.

TB surf guitar at beach

Anyway, I decided to change my normal behaviour and to take 2 minutes to enjoy and to really observe the screensaver images.

To be honest, in the past, I was too busy to pay attention. I had these amazingly beautiful images – but I never took the time to enjoy them.

screensaver1

I can certainly vouch for the benefits of taking 2 minutes to get into a serene state before plunging into serious work e-mails.

I calmed down and slowed down. I knew I had a lot of serious work to do – but choosing to take 2 minutes to enjoy these screen shots helped me focus – and actually felt quite empowering!

The screen shots added a little serenity and even sunshine to the start of my day. After sending important e-mails requiring delicate and diplomatic responses – I chose to take time to write this post.

Mindfulness – BS or Business Booster?

Tony Biancotti - positive, persuasive messages

I always remember being taken by surprise when I was in a very serious training session – and the person who organised the session insisted that before the training everyone in the room go through a mindfulness exercise. It took 60 seconds.

The business part of me thought: We don’t have time for this mindfulness stuff!

Then, I saw how this mindfulness exercise helped the participants be “in the moment” of the training session and to put aside past concerns or future worries. I compared these participants to participants in other sessions where we just jumped straight into business.

This organisation also did a mindfulness exercise at the start of every meeting to encourage people to be “in the moment”.

I suggest a similar technique to my serious financial clients trying to have more effective meetings or briefings – but I don’t call it mindfulness. I call it FOCUS or FOCUS for EFFICIENCY!

I can understand if you think these ideas of SERENITY and MINDFULNESS seem too flakey and art-farty for Western business culture.

I was cynical too! However, I encourage you to “test” these ideas on yourself to see the difference.

It’s easy to start with 2 minutes of calming screensaver images – if you have them. Really look at and notice the images.

I’ll check to see if there are any short calming videos on youtube.

—————
Getaway travel

If you enjoyed this post – Let’s connect:
If you found this post interesting you can follow me and connect with me.
I blog about fun pop culture stuff as well as more serious business communication tips.

@tonybiancotti
Linked In – under Tony Biancotti
Or you can follow this blog.

These days, lots of people and organisations need help with how to COPE with too much work, too much information, too many meetings, delivering difficult news, business writing, effective e-mail, e-mail overload, cross-cultural communication, better social media engagement etc. I like to help people COPE.

TBCope.001

One comment on “Here’s how your screensaver can help save you from stress Pt 1

  1. efangelist
    February 25, 2015

    Reblogged this on efangelist.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
