doubleshot media

for a strong, fast pick-me-up

Stressed out and angry at work? But you keep it inside? Try this BEFORE you explode >

If you get stressed out – this can help!

Don’t you love it when someone you admire and respect admits they have the same sort of challenge you have?

In business, we often work so hard to put on a professional face – yet these days so many of us are so frustrated and stressed out.

stress

It seems that to admit you have a challenge is to damage your professional image of being in control. It’s unprofessional. Unreliable. Un-businesslike!

This morning, I read some wonderful advice from one of my business communication heroes – Peter Bregman from the US.

PeterBregman

Now, I live I Australia and for years I’ve been studying and learning from Peter’s Harvard Business Review articles and his videos and his TED talks.

He seems to be a very smart and “together” guy and a good, caring father. (Another thing that really appeals to me.)

This morning, it was very “comforting” for me to learn that behind the smooth and “together” façade, Peter gets stressed out too. He admits he is tightly wound and has been angry and yelling a lot.

He shared how he deals with his stress. I’ll link to his full article at the end of this post. Here’s a snippet. I really encourage you to read the whole article – if you get stressed out at work or at home.


“Stress is, ultimately, about trying to control that which you can’t. So trying to control your stress is one more thing that increases your stress. Physically releasing the stress on your terms helps. The point is to create an intentional and safe doorway for the stress to escape before it explodes.”

Now, the way I interpret Peter’s article is for us all to release the stress BEFORE it gets too much. Intentionally. Safely. Discreetly. Privately!

Peter says he often goes to a private space and yells – or in his car alone he thumps the steering wheel.

Get rid of the stress in private – before you take it out on someone.

When I was younger I used to really enjoy thumping a heavy boxing bag.

boxing bag

After reading Peter’s advice, I plan to get new boxing bag. When I work from home when I start to feel stressed I’ll take a break and go downstairs and “take it out on the punching bag”.

I used to punch the bag for physical well-being. How I think I’ll use it for “mental serenity” too.

In business, we often regard ourselves as Business Minds. The thing is: we are bodies too – and our bodies build up stress.

These challenging economic conditions lead to more stress. Less people in businesses having to do more work with less resources!

But what if you are at work? What can you do to release your stress? I’ll write about that in a future post.

Here’s a link to Peter’s article.

Peter Bregman – stress
———-

TB LL mosaic
If you enjoyed this post – Let’s connect:
If you found this post interesting you can follow me and connect with me.
I blog about fun pop culture stuff as well as more serious business communication tips.
@tonybiancotti

Linked In – under Tony Biancotti
Or you can follow this blog.

These days, lots of people and organisations need help with how to COPE with too much work, too much information, too many meetings, delivering difficult news, business writing, effective e-mail, e-mail overload, cross-cultural communication, better social media engagement etc. I like to help people COPE.

TBCope.001

One comment on “Stressed out and angry at work? But you keep it inside? Try this BEFORE you explode >

  1. efangelist
    January 6, 2015

    Reblogged this on efangelist.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .