efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

What writers can learn from songwriter Billy Bragg – clever wordplay

efangelist

Do you remember the first time you “fell in love” with a writer’s words?

William Bloke CD

Thinking back now – I remember what first REALLY attracted me to the lyrics of Billy Bragg.

I remember the exact song and the exact line –

The song:

Greetings to the New Brunette

The line:

How can you lie there and think of England

When you don’t even know who’s in the team

BB Taxman poetry

The line made me smile and made me laugh – the blokey-ness of a guy thinking of sport. And Shirley not knowing about who’s in the team.

I thought  Billy was talking about  England – the soccer team  but it could be the cricket team or another sporting team representing England.

I was encouraged to go back and “study” his earlier work and continue to study his evolving works.

lots of BB CDs

I also loved his line in St Swithin’s Day

With my own…

View original post 732 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
