efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

The power of the DeLorean and nostalgia and emotive logos

Back to the future

Do you remember the DeLorean from Back to the Future?

I loved it back then – and I still love it now! I’m happy my 10-year old boy loves the DeLorean and those movies too.

Quick test for you:

What does this logo remind you of? Your first reaction!

logo ARSF

And if it brings back memories – what are you feeling right now??

If you are a child of the late 60s/70s (and probably earlier too) this logo will probably  bring back warm and happy memories of toy racing car tracks.

It certainly does for me–  and memories of the car “driving” I did before I could drive a real car!

scalextric retro

The logo is for the Australian Road Safety Foundation – an organisation that deals with a serious subject.

Yet, the organisation chooses this “not so serious” logo.

In my opinion, the logo helps find common ground with its potential audience – the common ground of the love of cars and driving.

The logo doesn’t come across and bureaucratic and “boring”.

There’s a big sign of the logo in the ARSF’s  lobby. This is the first time I’ve really noticed it – and reflected on its design.

Yes, I’m a real logo and design “nerd”.

I go inside to work with a CEO.

I enjoy “working” with this CEO because we share similar interests.

I mean this as a compliment – he still has a “boyish enthusiasm” for cars and he’s not afraid to show it.

I  walk into his office and can’t help but say “wow” when I see this.

Yes, the Back to the Future DeLorean!

Delorean

In fact, he has two model DeLoreans in his office.

delorean 2

I recently bought my son the same sort of model for his 10th birthday.

O delorean

For some reason, the DeLorean (especially the Time Machine one from Back To the Future)  seems to appeal to “boys” of all ages – even mature business people and responsible Communication Consultants and Coaches 🙂

Delorean Time machine

I can’t say too much at this stage – but let’s just say that the nostalgic power of theDeLorean will soon be put to good use to  appeal to “boys” of all ages (and probably many women too).

When I get “clearance” – I’ll share some videos. My car-loving friends will love them.

Anyway, must go now – and fix my flux capacitor!

———

If you enjoyed this post – Let’s connect:

If you found this post interesting you can follow me and connect with me.

everest

I blog about fun pop culture stuff as well as more serious  business communication tips.

Twitter 

 @tonybiancotti

Linked In – under Tony Biancotti

Or you can follow this blog.

These days, lots of people and organisations need help with how to COPE with too much work, too much information, too many meetings, delivering difficult news, business writing, cross-cultural communication etc.   I  like to help people COPE.

TBCope.001

One comment on “The power of the DeLorean and nostalgia and emotive logos

  1. efangelist
    May 22, 2016

    Reblogged this on efangelist.

Leave a Reply

