efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

How to prepare an effective short presentation – quickly (Pt 2/3)

Short presentations are not always sweet.

word nerd CU

They can be sweet – but many presenters make these mistakes:

1. they try to cram in too much information

2. they rush – speaking to quickly and flipping through slides too quickly. They lose their audience

3. they end too abruptly rather than closing with impact

In Part 1, I shared how post-it notes can help you prepare. Link at the end of this post.

Part 2 is about cutting from the middle or near the end – but not AT the end.

post-it pres 1

post-it pres 2

The post-its can help make sure you:

1. do NOT try to cram in too much information

2. do NOT have to rush – because you haven’t included too much information.

3. do NOT end abruptly

With the post-it notes you can quickly take out parts that make your presentation run beyond your allotted length.

When you trim – I recommend that you follow the advice from my old bosses in TV.

TB headline technique

In a TV story, instead of cutting from the end – you cut from  the middle or near the end but you leave the end in place.

You should have a strong end to finish with – a good line to close or a strong final image.

If you need to cut something – cut from the middle or near the end – but not the actual end.

Recently, I had to deliver a presentation. The event was running over time and I had to fit in all my content into 10 minutes.

I had to make tough choices to trim materials – but the post-its helped me reduce my content and re-shuffle my content quickly.

I took out content from near the end – but made sure I kept a strong finish.

How can you finish strongly ? I’ll share that in the final part of this “series”.

Here’s a link to part 1:

how-to-prepare-an-effective-short-presentation-quickly-part-1/

 

and here’s part 3:

how-to-prepare-an-effective-short-presentation-quickly-pt-3/3-big-finish/

———

If you enjoyed this post – Let’s connect:

If you found this post interesting you can follow me and connect with me.

everest

I blog about fun pop culture stuff as well as more serious  business communication tips.

Twitter 

 @tonybiancotti

Linked In – under Tony Biancotti

Or you can follow this blog.

These days, lots of people and organisations need help with how to COPE with too much work, too much information, too many meetings, not enough time,  delivering difficult news, business writing etc.   I  like to help people COPE.

TBCope.001

One comment on “How to prepare an effective short presentation – quickly (Pt 2/3)

  1. efangelist
    February 26, 2015

    Reblogged this on efangelist.

Leave a Reply

