efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

Do you think kids should be taught Australian lingo? – “full as a goog” – “bum nuts”

Do you know what “full as a goog” means? Do you know what a goog is?

O eggs

A goog is an egg – and full as a goog means totally full – you can’t put any more in.

Australia Day got me thinking about expressions many Australians take for granted – expressions such as “goog” and  “full as a goog”.

oz surf mat

I always remember the confused expression on my son’s face when his grandmother (my mother) used thi the goog expression.

Many Australian expressions came from the UK. Others were modified in Australia.

My mum is from Australian-British background. My mother-in-law is from a European background – unfamiliar with many “Aussie” expressions.

My son had never heard the goog expression until my mother said it to him. I imagine lots of other people don’t know Aussie expressions until the expressions are explained to them.

My mum teaches my son “older” Australian expressions and even bought him a book on Aussie Lingo.

O lingo1

lingo 2

He loves the book and is  keen to learn more Aussie expressions.

He loves many of the colourful and cheeky and funny expressions – like bum nut and cackle berries – other expressions for egg.

What do YOU think about these colourful Aussie expressions?

Should they be passed on to new generations to preserve our Australian-ness?

My son will learn these expressions – because his grandmother makes the effort to teach him (and because he is interested in learning Aussie lingo).

Can we do more to pass on Aussie Lingo?

Should kids be encouraged to learn this language – or are their learning schedules already as full as a goog?

O eggs 1

You may think many of these expressions are outdated. You may think we need to preserve them.

Personally, I’m glad my mum is teaching my son these expressions.

Please add your views to the comments section below.

5 comments on “Do you think kids should be taught Australian lingo? – “full as a goog” – “bum nuts”

  1. Rachel
    January 26, 2014

    Personally, I think that yes, kids should definitely know these expressions/words/etc – although maybe “learning” and “teaching” is a bit strong. I know a few more than most 18-year-olds, but I think it’s because I had an older mother who, in turn, had slightly older-than-typical parents, and she used a lot of them every day. I grew up collecting the “googs” from the “chooks” and it’s nothing unusual to me (despite having an English father), and I love hearing and collecting those typical Aussie vocab/expressions which are dying out.

    Also, it’s interesting to point out that in Scotland, they’re pushing to educate kids about Scots and have them use Scots words and expressions more. Why can we do the same here in Australia?

  2. efangelist
    January 26, 2014

    Thanks Rachel – interesting that Scotland wants to educate kids about Scots words. I’m just happy my son is interested in learning the colourful Aussie lingo – and that my mum is so happy to pass on words to him. It’s nothing formal – just fun – but it got me thinking. Kids learn so many other languages. There are moves to preserve Aboriginal languages. Is Aussie lingo a language? Australian Day just got me thinking about the topic.

    • Rachel
      January 27, 2014

      Strangely enough, this is something I’ve thought about a bit. I’m not sure I’d go so far as to say that Aussie slang/”strine” is its own language (and with internet/television it’s unlikely ever to become one), but it’s definitely a dialect – however, one that’s generally ignored except for cheesy stuff for tourists, and which is definitely dying out because people don’t realise it’s there. It’s not all strange pronunciation and colourful euphemistic phrases, but there are a lot of genuine words and slightly quirky ways of phrasing things which come out in Australia speech. Chooks, googs, dacks, and shonky, to saying something “needs putting away” to saying it “needs to be put away”.

      I don’t think there are too many offensive racist/sexist things happening in Australian slang/dialect (certainly not any more than other dialects, and most of them wouldn’t really be dialect words/phrases but just someone being a dill like they could in any language). There are certainly far more useful, everyday things to say.

  3. Margo
    January 27, 2014

    I don’t know if I’m allowed to comment on this, since I’m not Australian, but just my two cents (is that an American phrase or worldwide?): I think it’s neat to teach Orlando all those sayings, just like my mom passed recipes to me, or taught us how to say a prayer in Norwegian like my grandma used to do before Thanksgiving dinner. I DO, tho, think it might be inappropriate as an adult if any of them are derogatory towards certain groups or sexes. I think in “the old days” Australia was pretty paternalistic, and some of those might not be thought of quite so quaintly today. Maybe? As we say here, are you smelling what I’m cooking? 🙂

  4. efangelist
    January 27, 2014

    You are so right Margo. In reading the Lingo book, I noticed many expressions are amusing – but many comments have digs at certain religions, and sexuality, and other races. There is a real inventiveness in the language and a certain larrikin “humour”. I better check my spelling of larrikin. I can imagine my son asking: Dad – what’s a larrikin. I think we’ll have our own session learning some expressions as part of our Aust day (public holiday) reflection today. I’m not one for participating in “dunny races” or cane toad races on Aust Day – but I AM into preserving Australian language.

Leave a Reply

