doubleshot media

for a strong, fast pick-me-up

How to get the interest of senior execs by appealing to memories of their childhood toys

batman-utility-belt

Do you have a tough battle every day getting the attention of senior execs?

The more senior they are – the more busy they are. The less time they have and the harder you have to work to get their attention. But there are some things these “senior” people over 40 CANNOT resist.

I know from experience, I can be super-busy and super-focussed  – yet images of certain things  cut through and attract my attention. I’m not ashamed to say – those things are retro toys – things I was so passionate about as a kid – model planes and toy soldiers – anything Batman –  anything Apollo Landing and NASA.

For example , I got successfully “hooked” by Michael Moritz on Linked In – and I’m so glad I did! 

According of Forbes, Moritz worth 1.9 Billion dollars and he’s a respected and successful venture capitalist in San Francisco – a partner with Sequoia Capital.

Slide1

http://www.forbes.com/profile/michael-moritz/

But until an  image hooked my attention, I’d never heard of him – and I probably wouldn’t have except for this photo of toy soldiers – yes toy soldiers!

Slide1

I know it sounds juvenile – but I reckon a lot of men who are now in senior and serious positions would have played with toy soldiers like this as kids.

An image like this appearing in the middle of their serious day of reading serious material could have triggered some deep-seated urge to “investigate further”. I know this image “cut through” and stood out from all the other things I was reading.

Mind you I’ve always been interested in military matters – not as a solider – but as a Defence Correspondent.

TBDC.001

The toy soldiers image stopped me in my tracks – and aroused curiosity.

The picture hooked my attention – then once I’d slowed down, I read the article

Build Your Company’s Battlefield Manual

and enjoyed the lively writing style (Michael is a former journalist turned Venture Capitalist -so he knows how to write and “hook” in an engaging way.)

In business articles and on business connection sites like Linked In – the challenge can be that everyone and everything all looks the same.

I know many business people are afraid of looking unprofessional and so they play it straight and end up just looking like the rest of the pack! They are afraid to go to the effort to hook attention.

I’m now avidly following Michael on social media and learning as much as I can about him – and all because of an image of toy soldiers!

airfix-toy-soldiers-1-72-scale

This post if of course written from a male perspective because that’s what I understand. I’m keen to learn images of what toys/TV shows would attract the attention of senior female execs. Your comments are most welcome!

I am lucky to have a network of very smart and “senior” business people – including execs. I often write what I consider to be important business articles – yet what often gets the attention and comments and reaction from these senior execs?

It’s not the “serious” stuff – but pictures of retro Batman toys or a post related to superheroes or model plane kits.

Anyway, I better do and do some serious research – into retro toys with my son research assistant!

O and toy planeTB and toy plane

So who is writing this?

Hi, I’m Tony Biancotti and I can help you harness your creativity and hook attention with lots of tips from everyday life for  boosting creativity and hooking attention in everyday situations.

I can also help you improve your presentations and business writing.

I can share with you practical and easy-to-apply tips I’ve gathered over many years working as a:

  • TV journalist
  • political speechwriter
  • lawyer
  • blogger
  • musician and performer
  • coach and trainer in persuasionpositive messagespresenting and better e-mail and business writing.
  • and YES I’m a big Bono fan do and I like to help good causes for free with an offering called Pro Bono Bono.http://probonobono.wordpress.com/about/

I

One comment on “How to get the interest of senior execs by appealing to memories of their childhood toys

  1. Pingback: Social Media lessons from those red and green cocktail onions! | efangelist

Leave a Reply

