efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

#Twicks(TwitterWritingTricks):StrategicallyRevealYourInterests

If you want to improve how you use Twitter for business – strategically reveal your interests.

Settlers_of_Catan-p2

This post follows hot on the heels of a post about how you can borrow the writing techniques of one of my social media writing heroes –  Justin Furlong (a Canadian Law Firm Social Media Expert).

In your twitter profile you don’t have much spaceyet Jordan  goes to the effort of  concisely including some of  his outside -of-work interests – 80s music, C.S. Lewis and something I’d never heard of until today – Settlers of Catan.

I thought it may have been some Canadian folk band – so I searched out what it was!

In the earlier post, I wrote that I suspected that this interest would be  strategically “of interest” to Jordan’s business audience. He is an expert in strategy after all!

I’m sure it’s true that Jordan DOES like playing Settlers of Catan  – but it is also  very clever when you consider who else would be interested in Settlers of Catan.

Just look at this description from the website and note the sort of business people playing this game:

http://www.catan.com

“Settlers has spread from Stuttgart to Seoul to Silicon Valley…it has become a necessary social skill among entrepreneurs and venture capitalists.”-The Washington Post

“Settlers has become so popular in Silicon Valley that it’s now being used as an icebreaker at some business meetings.”-Wall Street Journal

“Over the past few years, Settlers of Catan has transformed from an activity enjoyed by a small niche of gamers into a mainstream hit.”-The Atlantic

“Settlers manages to be effortlessly fun, intuitively enjoyable, and still intellectually rewarding, a combination that’s changing the American idea of what a board game can be.”-Wired Magazine

“…the new generation of postcollegiate gamers is gravitating toward more complex games of exploration and trade…like Settlers of Catan…”-The New York Times

“Settlers has its own elegant economy, in which the supply and demand for five different commodities are determined by tactics, luck and the stage of the game.”-Financial Times

I don’t get  time to play  more “grown-up” games like Settlers of Catan –  I’m too busy playing board games with my kids and watching Game of Thrones and Mad Men with my wife!

So my Twicks for you to use your twitter profile to strategically connect for business:

1.dare to share your interest

2.pick interests that are also of interest to your target business market

I do lots of  work with advertising agencies  and helping improve business pitches – so my passion for  Madmen comes in very handy in connecting with that audience! And YES – I have included Mad Men on my twitter profile along with lots of other passions.

With your interests – be  both Sincere AND Strategic!

TBMMCW.001

I have no business connection with Jordan – I’m just a big fan of his social media writing style. He’s in Canada – I’m in Australia – yet we “chat” on twitter.

settlers-catan

Here’s a link to Jordan – and you can check out how he reveals his interests even in his short twitter profile.

http://www.stemlegal.com/jordan-furlong/

Also, here’s a link to my post about other word twicks you can use to improve YOUR twitter profile.

https://efangelist.wordpress.com/2013/04/19/twickstwitterwritingtricksimproveyourprofilewords/

My twitter profile  @tonybiancotti was inspired by tips from Peter Bregman (a fantastic blogger for the Harvard Business Review).

You can really find your point of difference by taking time to work out your strengths and weaknesses It’s a brilliant yet daring and “gutsy” process I’ll share in future posts.

So who is writing this? The person behind the post!

Young Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland before winning scholarship to study in the US
Young Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland before winning scholarship to study in the US

Hi, I’m Tony Biancotti – a  Australian lawyer turned journalist and business communication coach.

I enjoy (and have become pretty good at)  helping businesses win more business and  improve their marketing.

Modern law firm marketing in particular is  at the “sweet spot” – the intersection of my experience and skills.

My speciality is helping lawyers improve the way they write and engage and connect with their audience.

I share the latest techniques and best practices from the best legal practices around the world.

TBICLM

Let’s connect!

You can just learn from the tips I post or you can contact me if you’d like some in-person help with your legal marketing.

https://twitter.com/tonybiancotti

tony biancotti

@tonybiancotti

 

Linked In 

tony biancotti

tony biancotti

Syd+Bris+Singapore-Presentation/communication trainer(talkforce) +CEO=Chief E-fan-gelism Officer – E-fan-gelist

 
 
Or you can click to follow this blog with the button up the top.
Settlers_of_Catan-p2

One comment on “#Twicks(TwitterWritingTricks):StrategicallyRevealYourInterests

  1. efangelist
    October 12, 2014

    Reblogged this on Likeable Lawyer.

Leave a Reply

