efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

Twitter warning: Why you shouldn’t “Twirt” – flirt when you tweet

Twitter warning: Why you shouldn’t Twirt – flirt when you tweet

Slide07

I got sprung by my wife this morning for Twirting – Flirting on Twitter.

I “forgot where I was” – on Twitter.

It’s easy when you are quickly writing short-form messages to forget that all your tweets can be visible for the world to see.

It’s especially dangerous when you are tweeting from your phone – because this can feel so casual like you are sending a more private text.

Anyway, my wife found out that I was having an innocent twitter chat with a lovely and sweet friend of hers – and I got this tweet from my wife.

‪@tonybiancotti  ‪#WTFudd are u doing soliciting “twitter hugs”?

I chuckled to myself. It was all innocent – but it did serve as a warning.

Your twitter chats can be there for all to see. You can make your tweets just available to your followers – but many people have their tweets open to anyone!

My main point to you is to not get “too casual” on Twitter – especially when you tweet from your phone. It’s too easy for YOU to forget that you are on Twitter.

You can get Twansfixed in your tweeting!

Now, I’m not just saying this because my wife may be reading this – however I love her expression Twitter Hugs.

 

I’m going to use it!

Also, I should explain WTFudd – is a family joke.

ElmerFudd

Phil Dunphy from Modern Family politely “curses” with expressions like Sweet and Sour Chicken.

When I get angry – I say things like What the Fudd! – as in Elmer Fudd. (Fluffy Duck! is another  effective euphemism my son and I use!)

 What the Fudd! – even sounds less offensive  and  more funny when you say it in an Elmer Fudd voice!

Try it yourself!

At least I (unlike Phil Dunphy)  know that WTF does NOT mean Why The Face?

I love that show so much.

Why the Face

I’ve been harnessing the power of Fudd lately  – to come up with new Twitter-type words.

Just say things in an Elmer Fudd voice and you’ll create Twitter-type words like:

attWaction – writing to attract Twitter readers

inTwigue – writing twitter in an intriguing way

and now (thanks to my wife’s inspiration) Twirting (Twitter flirting) and Twugs – Twitter Hugs!’’

Hope I don’t get into Twouble – when she gets home from work!

Just we-member

Twirting can weed to Twouble!

More on how WTFudd can help you

https://efangelist.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/why-elmer-fudd-would-be-so-great-for-twitter-some-light-weeding-reading-for-your-coffee-break/

Let’s connect: (I promise not to Twirt!)

If you found this post interesting  and inTwiguing – for more tips you can follow me and connect with me on:

Twitter 

https://twitter.com/tonybiancotti

tony biancotti

@tonybiancotti

 

 

Linked In – under Tony Biancotti

Or you can click to follow this blog.

Cheers,

Tony

So – who is writing this ? 

Hi, I’m Tony Biancotti and I’m a laugh-loving lawyer turned journalist and  business communication consultant.

Sure, I can be an over-enthusiastic “nerd” when it comes to business communication – but I get  lots of feedback that people like my enthusiastic knowledge of and passion for the power of words and images and  techniques of engaging people.

I will share with you practical and easy-to-apply tips I’ve gathered over many years working as a:

  • TV journalist
  • political speechwriter
  • lawyer
  • blogger
  • musician and performer
  • coach and trainer in persuasionpositive messagespresenting and better e-mail and business writing.

I’m also a very busy dad and husband juggling my work and travel with family life and our two wonderful kids – Orlando and Cleo.

I’m based in Brisbane, Australia – and regularly travel for work throughout Australia and Asia-Pacific.

You can contact me on tonybiancotti@ozemail.com.au    or on Linked In or Facebook. Tony is of course short for Anthony.
There are two reasons why there are so many of “my photos” in these blogs
o official blog photographer 2
1. My 9-year-old son Orlando is my “official photographer” and he loves helping dad’s projects (and seeing the results of his work on-line)
2. I try to do the right thing  –  and use mostly our personal  pictures and if I feature  other people’s images/ideas  – I  credit where they come from.
(I credit  this “Be a good neighbour in social media” practice to Chris Brogan!)
That funny WTF Phil image came from here:
http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/phildunphy?before=19
Why the Face

Leave a Reply

