efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

inTwigue on #Twitter: How you can write Intriguing tweets that people actually bother to read.

inTwigue: How you can write Intriguing tweets that people actually bother to stop and  read.

Detective cover

Are you intrigued to find out what happens next? I know I am!

This cover intrigues: arouses curiosity or interest by revealing unusual, new or otherwise fascinating or compelling qualities.

If YOU (yes YOU!) want to write Twitter and other social media words that actually get read – you can learn lots from US “Intrigue expert” Sam Horn.

Sam Horn intrigue

samhorn+hat

I’ve was learning from and laughing at her writing this morning and her intriguing style inspired this post! – and the  very word inTwigue

You should check Sam out.

I’m not connected with her in any business way – only connected via Twitter and social media  – and I’m a big fan and she has inspired many posts – links at the end if you’re interested.

 

Here’s how her writing can help YOU – how it intrigued me and got me to read her work this morning.

If you are ultra busy like me – you don’t have much time for reading. I have to wake up at 4:30 a.m. to get some quiet time!

You have to quickly decide and choose what you read.

I try to be aware of, to study and to learn from what prompts ME to click on and open and read a social media message. There’s so much competition for our attention on social media.

Anyway, this morning I skim through Sam’s many tweets and  I see an Intriguing (inTwiguing) post that “hooks me in”.

Sam Horn ‏‪@SamHornIntrigue

Productive people spill their bedtime secrets! ‪@fastcompanyhttp://ow.ly/jPYqg 

It turns out that she is sending an article by a different writer Jake Baer – an article that no doubt intrigued Sam enough to make her want to read it.

The piece is about Productive people sharing what they do before Bedtime to improve their productivity.

Anyway – my point is –   it was the inTwiguing tweet that compelled me to take action, click through and read it.

Otherwise, I would have just rushed past to other tweets.

Even though it wasn’t Sam’s article – her tweet still made me think highly of her because she sent me an article of value to me.

I also admire the way the tweet is written – because in my analysis the  tweet is even shorter (tighter as we say in journalism)  and more engaging than the article headline and here’s why.

(I suspect Sam wrote the tweet wording – but I’m open to correction.)

First of all – please  compare the article headline/heading:

WHAT THE MOST PRODUCTIVE PEOPLE DO BEFORE BED

and the tweet:


Productive people spill their bedtime secrets!

Not only is it shorter – it’s more inTwiguing!

I’m very interested in productivity – so the Productive People” part “speaks to me”.

Sure, this part was in the article heading too – but the bit that really adds the secret sauce is…

spill their bedtime secrets!”

I think:  “What’s this about? This sounds unusual and interesting!”

word nerd

I’m such a word nerd in analysing every little  word – but I encourage you to “stay with me” to see how these techniques can help you.

Bedtime secrets sounds more intriguing because it’s more general and doesn’t give the true story away. It’s still accurate – but the reader if free to create their own extra meaning or want to find out more about what the story is about.

Also Spills sounds more intriguing – as if he reader will get secret insider tips.

That’s my reaction to it anyway!

Sam’s writing and her presenting (that you can see on youtube)  is insightful, useful and delivered in a fast and entertaining way! She’s not afraid to express her personality!

I know from reading so much of Sam’s material – that I can expect business wisdom – business tips written in a fun way.

How Sam’s writing can get YOU in the mood to write inTwiguing Twitter

It’s as if reading her fun stuff – puts me in a strategically “silly” and playful mood.

 

It gives me Pun-mission: Permission to Pun!    

 You see – I’m  now channeling Sam’s playful style!

WARNING: as much as some people LOVE puns (even bad ones!) other people LOATHE puns and don’t like the frivolity of those who pun.

Sam’s business site is fun of examples of the Power of the Pun to boost your business – but save your puns form the right crowd!

 

(Just explaining: I CAN be serious too! I can restrain from using bad puns – but some of my creative work benefits from bad puns to create inTwigue!)

This is my serious side!

This is my serious side!

I’m inspired by Sam’s writing to come up – with another Twitter-style puns

Tw-isdom – those short but often deep quotes you read on Twitter.

Sam often tweets little bits of Tw-isdom.

(I’ve never met Sam in person – but her writing is so expressive that you really get a sense of her personality – even just by her Twitter posts. Adding your individual personality is another key ingredient in making your social media writing more engaging!)

Anyway, my main tips for you – about what you can learn from Sam’s example:

 

  1. Put in extra effort make your twitter writing, other social media writing, and any post headings more inTwiguing
  2. Tell your target audience – “this post is for you” – remember Productive People at the start of the post?
  3. Don’t be afraid to add some unusual, intriguing words – bedtime secrets hooked me in
  4. Use contrast – what people don’t expect to be seen together in the one heading/sentence – productivity and bedtime secrets! Contrast helps build intrigue.
  5. Follow Sam’s work. Read it to get YOU in a strategically playful mood when you need to be more inTwiguing.

Here’s another post about more strategic silliness – using the inTwiguing power of contrast.

I was trying to come up with fresh Twitter terms (like inTwigue) and ended up using the creative catalyst of saying words in an Elmer Fudd voice.  It worked! Enjoy!

https://efangelist.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/why-elmer-fudd-would-be-so-great-for-twitter-some-light-weeding-reading-for-your-coffee-break/

ElmerFudd

Also, here’s another post about how YOU can use Sam’s creative and fun style.

http://iwannabecreativeblog.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/will-ferrell-trampire-the-alphabet-creativity-game-great-creative-inspiration-sam-horn/

And here’s her business website:

http://www.intrigueagency.com

Even her business site is packed with playful puns – and it shows how strategic silliness can be good for business by helping you package information in an engaging and entertaining way!

Let’s connect:

If you found this post interesting  and inTwiguing – for more tips you can follow me and connect with me on:

Twitter 

https://twitter.com/tonybiancotti

tony biancotti

@tonybiancotti

 

 

Linked In – under Tony Biancotti

Or you can click to follow this blog.

Cheers,

Tony

So – who is writing this ? 

Hi, I’m Tony Biancotti and I’m a laugh-loving lawyer turned journalist and  business communication consultant.

Sure, I can be an over-enthusiastic “nerd” when it comes to business communication – but I get lots of feedback that people like my enthusiastic knowledge of and passion for the power of words and images and techniques of engaging people.

I will share with you practical and easy-to-apply tips I’ve gathered over many years working as a:

  • TV journalist
  • political speechwriter
  • lawyer
  • blogger
  • musician and performer
  • coach and trainer in persuasionpositive messagespresenting and better e-mail and business writing.

.

(I credit  this “Be a good neighbour in social media” practice to Chris Brogan!)
Detective cover
If you want to see more of these great intriguing pulp covers: here’s the link
http://mysteryfile.com/blog/?p=577
Leave a Reply

