efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

Stand out and connect by revealing what you are a fan of.

Stand out  and connect by revealing what you are a fan of.

Bruce

Did this image of The Boss attract YOUR attention?

I took this shaky snap at a recent Springsteen concert when the Boss came out into the crowd. I was that close – this isn’t a photo from a big screen!

A similar image on a guy’s Twitter profile  page attracted my attention and made me want to connect with him.

He wasn’t even the guy I was looking for –(same name Michael Bradley – different guy) –  but that image made me want to connect with him.

More details here – if you are interested.

https://efangelist.wordpress.com/2013/04/13/do-you-love-your-name-or-hate-it-in-search-of-a-good-searchable-name/

I also wanted to connect with a lawyer  and social media for lawyers expert in the US –   David Barrett (Attorney).

I wasn’t originally planning to connect (just to read) but I did reach out  to connect – all because he prominently displayed that he was a fan of The Smiths and Colbert and Anti-Poverty Activism – things I am a  big fan of too!

He seemed to have similar tastes – and similar values. He was grateful to be a lawyer and also wanted to use those skills “for good causes”. I’d never heard of him before. I’d never met him – but I liked him. I could see common connections!

 

 

I know I keep going on and on about why it’s good business these days to reveal what you are a fan of – reveal what you are a fan of  – reveal it in social media, in business presentations, even on business websites.

Lawyers in the US are doing this very well – with special “tabs” on their website revealing their outside interests – the music they listen to, the books they read etc.

https://efangelist.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/how-us-law-firms-harness-the-power-of-like-to-win-more-business/

I’m also a massive  fan of Al Pacino and The Godfather.

Godfather

In the 3 Godfather movies there’s  a  repeated theme –“ It’s not personal – It’s business”

I argue – these days – you can win more business by getting more personal –  especially with social media engagement  – because business IS personal!

Oh – I can feel  (Godfather-themed) post coming on!

If you’re interested here is a link to that social media for lawyers guy –  David Barrett.

I started off just reading his ideas. He prominently shows a Facebook link – so I checked that out – I saw he was a fan of The Smiths and Colbert and Anti-poverty Activism – and these common connections made me want to reach out and connect with him.

Maybe YOU  can do similar things for your business – whatever hat business is.

Stand out and connect by revealing what you are a fan of!

Remember: Business IS personal these days.

http://linkedinlawyer.blogspot.com.au

So who is writing this ? Why does he share  his personal side? Is that unprofessional?

Hi, I’m Tony Biancotti and I’m a lawyer turned journalist and  business communication consultant.

Sure, I can be an over-enthusiastic “nerd” when it comes to business communication – but I get  lots of feedback that people like my enthusiastic knowledge of and passion for the power of words and images and  techniques of engaging people.

word nerd

I will share with you practical and easy-to-apply tips I’ve gathered over many years working as a:

  • TV journalist
  • political speechwriter
  • lawyer
  • blogger
  • musician and performer
  • coach and trainer in persuasionpositive messagespresenting and better e-mail and business writing.

I’m also a very busy dad and husband juggling my work and travel with family life and our two wonderful kids – Orlando and Cleo.

I’m based in Brisbane, Australia – and regularly travel for work throughout Australia and Asia-Pacific.

You can contact me on tonybiancotti@ozemail.com.au    or on Linked In or Facebook. Tony is of course short for Anthony .
Leave a Reply

