doubleshot media

for a strong, fast pick-me-up

How US law firms harness the power of LIKE to win more business

How law firms in the US are harnessing the power of LIKE – attorneys revealing what they like.

I’m a big fan and avid reader of a US Law Firm Web Design business called Great Jakes.

Slide3

I’m an Australian lawyer/journalist turned business communications consultant who studied Journalism and Law in the US.

This fantastic experience made me a big fan (and avid student) of how Lawyers do business in the US.

http://www.greatjakes.com/our_approach.htm

As you can see when you check out the above link, when the Great Jakes business designs web sites for lawyers they include a tab on what attorneys LIKE to do when”out of the office”.

This tab is of course after the site has established the attorney’s credibility and expertise.

You can see in further detail on the link below – how this legal expert reveals his passion for golf and his family and even what books he likes and what music  and red wine he enjoys.

I suspect lawyers would choose appropriate (and “safe”) LIKES that their potential business clients would also LIKE!

Personally, I think this approach reveals a broader, more human side of this attorney and makes him more LIKEable.

What do you think?

Do you think that’s a professionally acceptable way to reveal what a professional LIKES?

http://www.msbnj.com/attorneys/matthew-d-jessup/out-of-office-matt/

Here’s more on how you can harness the power of LIKE to win more business:

jag3

What have cars and bands got to do with attracting business for professionals?

This is all revealed below.

Eugene & The Egg - trying to look like/sound like  those great British bands Echo & The Bunnymen and The Cure

Have you noticed business has changed from the days when clients would line up to see you? You have to work harder these days!

When I was a young lawyer I thought it was undignified to go looking for business – but these days you can still encourage more business in an effective and yet dignified way. You can reach out and attract more business connections AND business through the power of LIKE.

I’ve recently been helping professionals (including lawyers) stand out from  their competitors and create extra bonds of connection with their potential clients.

I encourage lawyers (and other professionals) to think of the audience they want to attract and do the following to harness the power of LIKE:

1. Put images of people LIKE the audience they want to attract prominently in their marketing material – including their website.  part 1/4

2. Think of what YOU have in common with your audience members – how are you LIKE them? Part 2/4

3. Dare to share what you LIKE – things you are passionate about – especially if your audience is LIKEly to share that passion.

This POST is part  3/4!

If you want to see all the tips together in one rather long post –  there’s a link at the end of this post!

Why bother sharing what you LIKE? Who cares?

People do business with people and they prefer to do business with people who are LIKE them or people they can relate to.

Sharing what you LIKE is another point of connection and commonality. If your professional expertise is similar to your competitors – your audience will probably prefer to work with you because they can relate to you on a personal level. The LIKE factor can tips the scales (of decision) in YOUR favour!

I know many lawyers think revealing their personal side will erode their professional credibility – but revealing what you LIKE can actually boost connection and your chances of winning business over yourcompetitors.

Eugene & The Egg - trying to look like/sound like  those great British bands Echo & The Bunnymen and The Cure
I’m in the middle on the drums!

I know from personal experience that I have made great professional connections with senior executives through revealing my passion for music. A senior executive connected with me over a shared passion for 80s music and drums – he had been a drummer too.

Another very senior  and powerful executive I met from Singapore had studied in the UK and was a massive fan of bands like The Clash and The Cure. We connected so strongly through this shared interest in music.

I would never have known of HIS passion for this music – unless I had first shared about my days playing in bands.

And here’s a common passion that can help YOU connect…

jag3

I also love classic cars – the beautiful lines of  classic Porches and Jags stop me in my tracks and I usually have to take photos!

I don’t own a car like this (yet) – but I love looking at them!

I am the family-friendly  SUV stage of  my life!

Once again, I’ve found that many people also LIKE (no make that LOVE) classic cars – often senior and very influential executives. DARE to share!

T+ retro porsche

Yeah – but how can YOU get a car or motorbike into a professional presentation or website?

I’ve mentioned the Out-of-office TAB technique used in progressive US Law firm websites.

Also, you can try a metaphor

I’ve even helped professional services businesses win big business pitches by  harnessing the power of LIKE – by researching the interests (likes)  of key audience members and “matching” someone from your organisation who  genuinely shares that passion to deliver the presentation (or be part of the presentation)

In one case the passion was for vintage British motorcycles. The presenter chosen to be part of the pitch was also a long-time fan and rider of vintage motorbikes. We also worked in motorbikes into a metaphor in the pitch presentation about safely managing risks- and the technique worked!

So long as you have the business competency your audience is looking for – if you add the LIKE factor you have an extra advantage! Metaphors are a fantastic way to use images in presentations – go full screen image and YOU talk about how X is LIKE your image. Wow – the LIKES just keep coming!

Here’s the link to all the  Power of LIKE tips in one hit:

 

https://efangelist.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/how-lawyers-can-win-more-business-through-the-power-of-like/

So who is writing this?

Hi, I’m Tony Biancotti and I can help you win more business, harness your creativity and hook attention with lots of tips from everyday life for  boosting creativity and hooking attention in everyday situations.

I can also help you improve your presentations and business writing.

I can share with you practical and easy-to-apply tips I’ve gathered over many years working as a:

  • TV journalist
  • political speechwriter
  • lawyer
  • blogger
  • musician and performer
  • coach and trainer in persuasionpositive messagespresenting and better e-mail and business writing.

I’m also a very busy dad and husband juggling my work and travel with family life and our two wonderful kids – Orlando and Cleo.

I’m based in Brisbane, Australia – and regularly travel for work throughout Australia and Asia-Pacific.

You can contact me on tonybiancotti@ozemail.com.au    or on Linked In or Facebook. Tony is of course short for Anthony .
Twitter:
tony biancotti

tony biancotti

@tonybiancotti

3 comments on “How US law firms harness the power of LIKE to win more business

  1. Pingback: Stand out and connect by revealing what you are a fan of. | efangelist

  2. Pingback: #BetterLawBlogTips:How Yippie Ki Yay helps Law Bloggers! | efangelist

  3. Pingback: #BetterBlogWritingTips: YIP-pie ki yay success formula for kick-ass blogging | Likeable Lawyer

Leave a Reply

