efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

Superheroes, Social Media, Sharing and Common Connections

Don’t you love it when you find other people with common connections – common likes and common quirks and common attitudes?

Social media is a great way to find like-minded people and connect with them – and to make a living and do business with people you’d like to interact with!

Slide1

(My son Orlando – this is an earlier shot – but he still loves super heroes)

Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about Superheroes – probably because I’ve taken my 9-year-old son Orlando 14 times on the Justice League ride at Movieworld on the Gold Coast.

He and I are so excited about the new Iron Man movie (Iron Man 3) coming out and I’be been using my passion for and love of Super Heroes to help him with his homework.

I’m a serious corporate trainer and communication coach who helps people around the world – but my proudest recent achievement is using super heroes to help Orlando remember how to spell words that are written differently from how they sound.

In his latest spelling test – He got 16 out of 20 words correct – which believe me is a BIG achievement – because he usually gets single figures.

If you’d like to use superheroes to help kids learn – here’s the post:

http://howtohookattention.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/how-iron-man-tony-stark-captain-america-and-green-hornet-can-help-your-kids-get-better-school-marks/

ironmen

environment

Anyway, that’s why superheroes are on my mind.

Now – part of me feels guilty at my immature love of superheroes – but then I read my weekly newsletter from Chris Brogan.

Chris doesn’t like being called a social media “expert” – but he is one of the “superheroes” of the social media scene – ranked in the top 5 in social media influence – and number 3 in a recent twitter power study. These measures and their results  change frequently – but let’s just say he’s “powerful” and “well-known”

What made me feel better about my super hero fandom – was that super-successful Chris seems to have a thing for superheroes too.

Check out the icon for his The Human Business Way

human business way

In one of his recent newsletters he used a folksy SOCIAL MEDIA COMPARISON using kids playing superheroes. This really connected with me and made sense.

These are his words below: (I just want to show his superhero and kids comparison)

“As a kid, I played superheroes with my friends all the time. I’d be Batman or Green Lantern, and someone else would be Superman or Hulk or whoever they liked. When play went well, we all contributed to beating the bad guys. When it went poorly, the kid playing Superman would say that only he could defeat the villain.

 

This story, 30 years later, is half of what feels horrible with work, with how others self-promote, and more. 

Everyone has to feel like they can participate in some way. If we don’t allow for that, all these experiences feel less helpful, less part of us. We have to contribute or we’ll start to tune out. 

How are you encouraging people to participate and do their own successful experiences?”

Here’s a link to his site if you want to sign up to his newsletter. I’m not connected with Chris in any way – I’m just a fan of his – and fellow fan of the power of superheroes!

www.chrisbrogan.com

Then there’s his book with a superhero theme. I guess when you become as successful as Chris is – you can bring out your childhood fascination with superheroes.

it's not about the tights

If you were to create an ORIGINAL SUPERHEROwhat superpowers would they have and what would you call them?

If I had a superpower it would probably be the power to encourage others. Encouragement MAN!

Encouragement Man or “The Encourager” isn’t super-strong or super-fast himself – he just encourages others to be their best and to be faster and stronger!

Anyway, I encourage you – to:

1.Find common connections with the people you want to connect with.

2. Reveal what you are a FAN of (that’s what eFANgelism is about!).

3. Dare to share your passions and “appropriate parts” of your personal side. As Chris Brogan would say – build your business by sharing your HUMAN side.

4. Be useful to others – pass on cool stuff that will help others.

Chris shares so much valuable stuff for free. He invests in making connections with people – so when people need particular help, they know the person to contact.

Speaking of sharing cool stuff – here’s a link to a piece I found when I was searching for  more stuff about “Chris Brogan and  superheroes”

http://www.thekitchenskinny.com/behind-the-scenes-with-chris-brogan-superheroes-bravery/

So who is writing this?

Hi, I’m Tony Biancotti and I can help you harness your creativity and hook attention with lots of tips from everyday life for  boosting creativity and hooking attention in everyday situations.

I can also help you improve your presentations and business writing.

I can share with you practical and easy-to-apply tips I’ve gathered over many years working as a:

  • TV journalist
  • political speechwriter
  • lawyer
  • blogger
  • musician and performer
  • superhero – JUST CHECKING IF YOU READ THIS FAR!
  • coach and trainer in persuasionpositive messagespresenting and better e-mail and business writing.
  • and YES I’m a big Bono fan do and I like to help good causes for free with an offering called Pro Bono Bono.http://probonobono.wordpress.com/about/

 

2 comments on “Superheroes, Social Media, Sharing and Common Connections

  1. Pingback: UPDATE: How to attract people to your message – the way Chris Brogan does by revealing his “human” side and what he is a fan of | efangelist

  2. efangelist
    September 1, 2014

    Reblogged this on efangelist.

Leave a Reply

