efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

UPDATE: How to attract people to your message – the way Chris Brogan does by revealing his “human” side and what he is a fan of

UPDATE:

7 March 2013

In his podcasts and in his newsletters, Chris Brogan says he wants to “connect” and just chat about stuff.

I thought – “Yeah riiiii-ght! (in Doctor Evil voice)  He’d be too busy to “chat” because he’d have so many people and fans contact him – and yet he DID get back to me about a “thank you” message I sent him – and about a question – I was keen to know: who did the music he uses in his podcast?

I  liked the music’s  unusual combination of sounds grungy, fuzzed-up guitars mixed with “sparkly techno sounds” -and I thought he must have known some cool, new US band  I wasn’t aware of – and he got back to me with his answer.

Chris seems to practise what he preaches about being available and approachable and willing to just “chat” and share about little things – common interests – like music.

Here’s an earlier post – about why I LIKED his style – before I even “chatted” with him about little stuff!    Enjoy!

Also, here’s a link to a more recent post about  how I related to Chris’s “thing” for Superheroes!

https://efangelist.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/superheroes-social-media-sharing-and-common-connections/

If you want to attract the attention of the audience you want – you can learn a lot from Chris Brogan. I certainly do!

Chris Brogan is one of my social media heroes – but I like him for lots of other reasons too.

The more get to “know”him – the more I like him!

blog-de-chris-brogan

If you work in any form of communication and if you’re not familiar with Chris – you should check him out.

Chris  is very successful in the social media space (He prefers to call himself a business designer)

I’m not connected with Chris in any way – other than being a fan and “student” of his engaging and “human” style of business design. He is super successful in social media  – he doesn’t need any “help” from me.

I’m saying what I admire about his style so YOU can (as I have) learn from his HUMAN style.

chris brogan site colour

What I REALY like is how he comes across as an “ordinary” person and how he “talks” so much about other stuff – like being a fan of music and campfires and smores, and comedy, and the creative process, and frisbee golf, and coffee,  and his favourite internet shows about cars and coffee, and improv, and writing, and handling depression and rejection in the creative field, and weight challenges, and teasing his friends about liking Twilight music, and….and so much more.

In his podcasts he comes across as not so much a know-it-all “guru” but as a regular (sometimes goofball) guy.

He comes across as if he is just trying to work it all out too and learn from his friends and connections.

Sometimes his podcast delivery may be a bit OTT (over the top) and “American” for some of my Austraian friends – but hey he IS American and he comes across with such enthusiasm!

I think it’s funny how he shares that one of his proudest moments was when someone he admired re-tweeted not a piece of his social media wisdom  – but one of his “goofy”  twitter jokes. – I got kicked out of yoga class and now I’m ooooohm-less

Chris says in real life people just sometimes share jokes – it’s not always serious business!

chris brogan cartoon image

(caricature image  from and audio available on  http://multimediamarketingshow.com/podcast/how-to-build-a-highly-engaged-audience-with-chris-brogan/)

When you reveal parts of your human side (rather than just the business information) your audience can find things they have in common with you. Humans have passions, dislikes, fears and failures – and Chris often shares these in his podcasts and blogs.

Chris’s speaking and writing style is loose and natural and even his newsletter comes across like he is talking with you. He even takes time to “talk” about little things..

Chris’s believes in revealing your human side  – in fact his website is called The Human Business Way.

Chris reveals his LIKES and passions and comes across as a sincere FAN of many of the interesting guests he has on his show.

I talk about creating connection by revealing what you are a FAN of through e-FAN-gelism.

https://efangelist.wordpress.com/about/

TBCope.001

Other shared LIKES (we seem to have in common) include the joy of cupcakes (he often has enticing and inviting images close to (or as) the take action buttons on his site. He talks about plans and processes as recipes – much more inviting and less intimidating!

cupcake

And then there’s the warm, delicious  coffee/chocolate/caramel colour combinations on his website.

CB colours

In previous posts, I’ve written about how I love coffee/chocolate colours.

http://howtohookattention.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/how-you-can-use-colour-to-engage-the-way-social-media-expert-chris-brogan-does/

CB coffee colours

I’m also a big fan of that groovy orange colour – and I was delighted to find Chris seems to dig that colour too!

orange-ps

http://sentimentalasanything.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/the-colour-orange-what-memories-do-you-get-from-this-colour-orange/

human business way

I find a certain childlike, cartoonish exuberance to Chris’s design – and I LOVE it.

Chris talks about wanting to create a Monchu – an Okinawan word for chosen family outside your bloodline)  of like-minded people.

By revealing your human side, your passions and your LIKES, you can attract LIKE-minded people.

Check out Chris’s website – maybe you’ll “like”his style too and want to join his monchu!

Here’s a link to Chris’s website:

http://www.chrisbrogan.com

So who is writing this?

Hi, I’m Tony Biancotti and I can help you harness your creativity and hook attention with lots of tips from everyday life for  boosting creativity and hooking attention in everyday situations.

I can also help you improve your presentations and business writing.

I can share with you practical and easy-to-apply tips I’ve gathered over many years working as a:

  • TV journalist
  • political speechwriter
  • lawyer
  • blogger
  • musician and performer
  • coach and trainer in persuasionpositive messagespresenting and better e-mail and business writing.
  • and YES I’m a big Bono fan do and I like to help good causes for free with an offering called Pro Bono Bono.http://probonobono.wordpress.com/about/

I’m also a very busy dad and husband juggling my work and travel with family life and our two wonderful kids – Orlando and Cleo.

You can contact me on tonybiancotti@ozemail.com.au    or on Linked In or Facebook. Tony is of course short for Anthony .

Leave a Reply

