efangelist

putting the FAN in evangelism – spreading your messages by daring to share what you are a FAN of

WHY YOU (YES YOU!) NEED TO vary your writing and EMPHASIS for different audiences!!!!

olivetti lettera 32

What sort of industry do you work in?

One that values conformity and fitting in – or one that values EXPRESSIVENESS and STANDING OUT!!!

This post was inspired by feedback over twitter from someone in the US – with well-intentioned feedback that he found my bolding in my posts distracting and hard on the eye.

I value the feedback…and it got me thinking about emphasis in writing.

Not just the words – but how those words look and sound on the page or screen.

You can add emphasis and vary the sound with:

CAPS

punctuation – exclamation marks!!!!

bold

italics

“air quotations” –  quotation marks always says to me (in an “Austin Powers” voice) that someone else saying this or it’s a special term – think “LASER”.

word nerd CU

As a writing trainer, I work with a range of industries.

When I work with creative industries like media and music and advertising – I find the writing so  individual and EXPRESSIVE!!!!

When I present I tend to gesture a lot and emphasise things I want to stand out.

I probably do the same in my writing!

Oh, there’s that exclamation mark again.

I just noticed – even when I use images I use close-ups – just to make sure people notice what I want them to notice.

Self-awareness of your communication style is a powerful thing.

So is awareness of the preferred style of your audience

Nerdvana

Lots of CAPS and exclamation marks and  bold and visual variety in the writing.

I can be expressive in my writing – which is fine when communicating with other expressive types – yet I know my style can be annoying to others.

I sometimes get the feedback with reactions to my emphasis  - things like:

Do you think I’m stupid?

I get it. No need to be so obvious.

I hate exclamation marks.

TB training group

Anyway, to help you improve your writing  - I encourage you to:

1. Be aware of different styles – we are not all the same

2. Graciously encourage and accept feedback and try to learn from it

3. Learn how and when to vary your style

I believe that emphasis – CAPS, italics, bold, exclamation marks!!! etc. can add personality and voice to your writing and add visual variety.

Some readers like variety – others find it distracting.

I will heed the advice/feedback and tone down my emphasis – especially when writing for less expressive industries such as engineering, law, and finance.

I’m not abandoning emphasis all together – but I will be more aware and vary my style and degree of expressiveness.

I’m keen to learn your views. Please add to the comments section below.

(In the past I would have written your  as YOUR in CAPS or bolded to make it stand out. I would fear readers might miss it and not comment. I must learn to have more faith in my readers.)

I still think the bolding creates visual variety in a post.

Here’s a link to an example of what I consider to be an excellent post. I like the conversational style and the use of emphasis.

Then again, the writer looks like one of those “individual, creative types”  - who probably likes to STAND OUT!!!

The anatomy of a great post

If you enjoyed this here are links to other tips for better blogging. You can work your way through the list!

1.The YIP-pie-ki-yay success formula for kick-ass blogging

2.Blog like Bregman – how he achieves his engaging style

If you enjoyed this post – Let’s connect:

If you found this post interesting you can follow me and connect with me.

everest

I blog about fun pop culture stuff as well as more serious  business communication tips.

Twitter 

 

tony biancotti

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,275 other followers

